“Radical” Christians or “Radical” Doubters


Our local news station, KFDM Channel 6, recently posted a story on this (you can read for yourself here) and the comments that I read on Facebook really got me thinking.  These people promote what they believe, they try to back it up with the Word (and the Word also totally kills their belief…there is irony for you) and people use the Word of God and then use profanity in the next sentence to condemn these people.  C’mon people!!!  No, I don’t side with these people and no I don’t condone what they believe but at least they are doing something to promote it!!!  One guy called them a radical Christian and then in around about way, condemn them for being a radical.  Again I am not taking their side because these scriptures right here, Matt. 25:13; Matt. 24:36, shoot their theory right out of the water.  Now, this is what I am getting at.  We condemn these people for promoting this garbage but at least they are promoting.  We as “Christians” condemn anything that goes against the things we believe but we never promote the truth that the world is so longing to see.  When are we going to get “radical” for what we believe and who we believe in.  Again lets look toward the Word for our answers, Mark 8:38 in the Message bible reads like this

38“If any of you are embarrassed over me and the way I’m leading you when you get around your fickle and unfocused friends, know that you’ll be an even greater embarrassment to the Son of Man when he arrives in all the splendor of God, his Father, with an army of the holy angels.”

so…this kinda hits home doesn’t it.  Getting back to the radical comment that sparked this blog writing in the first place, he says that God has given us our own free will which is right because if not we would be a bunch of robots.  But to just hold in the truth and not do anything about it is also wrong.  Call me a radical, call me a fanatic, but I will promote the Word of God.  I will promote the Gospel of Jesus Christ to anyone who wants to or doesn’t want to listen.  I don’t want the Son of Man, Jesus Christ, to be embarrassed of me because I thought to much of my popularity ratings more than I did of Him.  I don’t see people condemning the atheists for the beliefs and their promoting that garbage all over Houston by billboards.  I don’t see people condemning the radical Muslims who want to kill all the Christians, Americans, and the Jews.  Yes, this guy has a little Jim Jones complex, but shame on us for not promoting the real truth like this “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” – Romans 3:23 (ASV) and this “For it is written, As I live, saith the Lord, to me every knee shall bow, And every tongue shall confess to God.” – Romans 14:11 and this, “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosever believeth in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life.” – John 3:16.  I challenge you to get radical about Jesus, time is short and yes there is a lot of opposition out there, but don’t let God be embarrassed.  I know I won’t.

-dereck

2 thoughts on ““Radical” Christians or “Radical” Doubters

Leave a Reply

