Being a Christian in America…


I read, as everyone else has, of Christians in the Middle East being crucified, beheaded, raped, sold into sex slavery, shot in execution style all because they denounced Islam/Muslim faith and took a stand for Christ. My stomach turned as these stories, gruesome tales, are told through news reports, eye witness accounts, and propaganda videos. As I sat in church yesterday listening to my Pastor speak on how God is stretching us and sometimes we don’t like it, my mind began to wonder to a time where I was so quick to say, I am not going back to church because of this or that. I begin to think about how Christians in the Middle East have to go in hiding, constantly on the run, always having to look over their shoulders. I begin to feel convicted in my own self and I asked God to forgive me because I have taken Christianity in America for granted. I have taken the liberty to come and go from a house of worship freely without persecution or threat of death for granted.

My challenge to you is simple, it’s the same challenge God laid on my heart, to serve Him 125% until the end. Don’t let simple things keep you out of church. Don’t let a headache, stomach ache, being tired, other things in life keep you from the house of God. Instead be the one who is there when the doors are open. Rather it is prayer meeting, worship practice, Bible study, cleaning day, or whatever it may be; be there! Support your pastor!! Support them in prayer and encouraging words. Support the leadership of your church the same. Don’t be ashamed to stand up for Jesus and remember when you feel like throwing in the towel; think about how easy we have here in America. Remember we are Christians in America, we have the liberty and freedom to worship our Sovereign God without fear of death or persecution.

I leave you with this…”not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but EXHORTING one another, and so much more as you see the Day approaching.” – Hebrews 10:25 (NKJV)

 

Maranatha.

Leave a Reply

